I'm no longer accepting counselling referrals (43 years is enough).

My last Facilitator Training for the Who's in Charge? group will be in Melbourne April 2019

WIC? Facilitator training

Any future WiC? Facilitator training will be provided by the Walking on Eggshells Team, Adelaide (see Violene to Parents page).


Mobile: 0423 868 868

My book on violence to parents "Who's in Charge?" has now been published by Austin Macauley.

Who's in Charge

if you are in Australia, Amazon.au is cheaper:
WiC? Amazon AU





This web-site exists mainly to provide info on violence to parents and parent abuse as there is still very little on the web. See link to "Violence to parents" in the bar above.

It also provides a way to contact me even if my e-mail address changes.


I seriously felt that I was on my last legs until a very dear friend told me about your website. I live in outback QLD and first looked at your website at work and I couldnít stop crying. Everything that I was reading I had been through and am still going through but on different levels. Your website has given me a source of normality, knowing that other parents have gone through or are going through the same issues that we have faced.

I have been totally inspired about your website and have taken solace in it.
I seriously believed that I was the only one going through this and didnít even think there would be a website like yours.
I can relate to the letters from your parents that are on your site in some way.

I felt like I had nowhere to turn to until I read your website, every word of it. It gave me strength and confirmed to me what we are doing is the right thing. Being strong and united, setting boundaries and sticking with them.



With Barbara Cottrell and Javier Urra at Madrid Conference Sept 2011. Barbara and I were the two international speakers at a large (300+ professionals) conference specifically on violence to parents. Thanks to Javier and the team at Recurra in Madrid.


I am a Psychologist, Social Worker, Family Therapist, Trainer, Supervisor, Student, Writer, Parent, ex-Foster Carer & Glaswegian (though not necessarily in that order).  I have 40-+ years experience (that's work experience - a bit more life experience, unfortunately).

I live in Melbourne, Australia with a wife, a son and a cat.

Click the "About Eddie" link in the bar above if you want to know more.

This website is under (cheerfully amateur) construction (& always will be)